And The Filmfare Award Goes To…


Yes, finally the 58th Idea Filmfare Awards took place last night and threw not so few a surprises.

2012 had really been a memorable year with both big budget films as well as small budget films making it to the nomination lists in various categories and no prizes for guessing who the real winners eventually turned out to be though like said earlier, it did throw up a few surprises.

Ranbir Kapoor and Vidya Balan continued from where they left off last year. And Barfi! with all its sweetness dominated the starry night this year.

So here’s the list of all the winners who made it to the dais to receive their beloved black lady:

Best Actor in a Leading Role – Ranbir Kapoor for Barfi!

Best Actress in a Leading Role – Vidya Balan for Kahaani

Best Director – Sujoy Ghosh for Kahaani

Best Film – Barfi!

Best Debut Director – Gauri Shinde for English Vinglish

Best Debut (Male) – Ayushmann Khurana for Vicky Donor

Best Debut (Female) – Ileana D’cruz for Barfi!

Critics Award for Best Film – Gangs of Wasseypur

Critics Award for Best Actor (M ale) – Irrfan Khan for Paan Singh Tomar

Critics Award for Best Actor (Female) – Richa Chadda for Gangs of Wasseypur

The Lifetime Achievement Award – Late Yash Chopra

Best Dialogue Award – Anurag Kashyap, Zeishan Qadri, Akhilesh Jaiswal and Sachin K. Ladia for Gangs of Wasseypur

Best Screenplay Award – Tighmanshu Dhulia and Sanjay Chouhan for Paan Singh Tomar

Best Story Award – Juhi Chaturvedi for Vicky Donor

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male) – Anu Kapoor for Vicky Donor

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female) – Anushka Sharma for Jab Tak Hain Jaan

Song Trendsetter of the Year Award – Barfi!

Best Music Award – Pritam for Barfi!

Best Lyrics Award – Gulzar for ‘Challa’ from Jab Tak Hain Jaan

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Ayushmann Khurana for ‘Paani Da Rang’ from Vicky Donor

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Shalmali Kholgade for ‘Pareshan’ from Ishaqzaade

R. D. Burman Award for New Music Talent – Nita Mohan for ‘Jiya Re’ from Jab Tak Hain Jaan

Best Choreography Award – Bosco Ceaser for ‘Aunty Ji’ from Ek Main Aur Ek Tu

Best Background Score Award – Pritam for Barfi!

Best Action Award – Sham Kaushal for Gangs of Wasseypur

Best Cinematography Award – Setu for Kahaani

Best Production Design Award – Rajat Poddar for Barfi!

Best Sound Design Award – Sanjay Morya and Allwyn Rego for Kahaani

Best Costume Award – Manoshi Nath and Rushi Sharma for Shanghai

About the event: the 58th Idea Filmfare Awards opened to an eclectic performance by the badshah of Bollywood Shah Rukh Khan that paid tribute to the 100 years of Indian cinema. Shah Rukh Khan also co-hosted the event along with his regular partner Saif Ali Khan. The duo brought the house down once again with their wise cracking gibes and antics. Karan Johar too was part of the event and hosted a few segments.

Another of the standout performance on stage was of eternal youthful singer Usha Uthup who sang some of the golden oldies like ‘Ajeeb Daastan’, ‘Babuji Dheere Chalna’, etc.

Other noted performances were from Anushka Sharma who danced to the medley of some of her songs and songs of yester year actresses.

Varun Dhawan and Siddharth Malhotra who made their debut in Karan Johar’s Student of the Year, too hosted a segment of the awards night.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here